Coming Soon (a.k.a the blog’s first name game)

After waiting since July I finally have an official puppy assignment! Woohoo!

When we found out Dulcie was not going to be a Breeder I asked if I could get a female golden retriever at the Holiday Luncheon this year. I was so excited when I was told that it was going to happen and even more excited when I got my assignment. I’ve been sitting on this for a couple of weeks to make sure that everything was official (didn’t want to get my hopes too high) and now it is! So, here’s my puppy assignment;

Female Golden Retriever from the Kash/Blythe litter born on October 13, 2014. Litter letter “J”.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with GDB naming policies here’s a quick run through. Each of their litters is assigned a letter and each puppy in that litter will receive a name beginning with their litter letter. Only names that are not currently “active” are considered for new litters. An active name means a name already belonging to either a working guide, active breeder, or current puppy in training. Since this is a little confusing I will give an example. My first puppy’s name, FREYA, is currently an “active” name since she is a working guide dog whereas HILLY’s name is no longer considered “active” because she has been dropped from the program. So, until Freya retires there will not be another Freya named at GDB, but there could be an “H” puppy named Hilly. Does that make sense? Anyway, because of the restrictions GDB has to get really creative with their names sometimes. I’ve been particularly lucky when it comes to names, so hopefully Miss “J” will follow that trend.

Now some of you may be asking why I am calling her Miss “J” instead of by her name. The simple answer to that is; I don’t know it yet. As raisers when we receive our assignment we are only given their birthday, parents, and their letter. This is because mistakes do happen and GDB doesn’t want a raiser to get used to a really nice name only to have it change before the puppy gets to them because they accidentally gave them an active name. Plus, it’s really fun to play the Name Game. The Name Game is guessing your puppy’s name before you get it. I have so far guessed two of my own puppyies’ names correctly (Freya and Dulcie) and a couple of names in my club.

Which brings me to my next point; CONTEST TIME!

I think it’s really fun to have a little contest to see if anyone can guess the name correctly. And this contest comes with prizes. First the rules of the game.

  1. Two (2) names per person please. Any more names after the first two submitted with not be taken into consideration.
  2. In the result of a tie there will be a tie breaker. And here it is. I know two other people who are getting two of my Miss J’s sisters. If there is a tie, the winner will be whoever also guessed one of these two puppies’ names. If no one also guesses one of these two sisters’ names then the tie will be settled in the old fashioned style of “First Come, First Serve”. So get your guesses in early!
  3. Names must begin with “J”. Well I guess they don’t have to, but you have a much better chance of winning if you submit names that begin with “J”.
  4. With your name submission please also give me your email address so that I can contact you if you win the prize.
  5. Have fun and be creative!

The prize will be either a handmade leather leash or a handmade tie fleece throw. Winner’s choice.

One thought on “Coming Soon (a.k.a the blog’s first name game)

Leave a comment